What Losing 100 Pounds Taught Me

JasminBeforeAndAfter

“It didn’t come as a shock to me that when I lost nearly 100 pounds, the world and its relationship to me changed drastically.

What threw me for a loop, however, was the fact that many of those changes were so deeply unsettling.”

“As my weight came off, I saw the world around me change. Men would enthusiastically hold doors for me. Women, with a snap of their gum and a flip of their hair, would compliment my “cute blazerrrrr!” Employees at coffee shops smiled at me, and made eye contact. Some of my well-intentioned but tacky friends would say that I looked “a lot better.” My (always thin) mother told me she was proud of me; she had the same gleam in her eye that she had when I completed graduate school.

As a fat person, I had been used to folks rushing ahead of me on the subway, not making eye contact at the store, or not smiling back when they passed me in the hallway of my apartment building. These behaviors were what I recognized as normal.”

 

About pwl

I am a Systems Scientist with a Specialty in Systems Analysis and Computer Science and Neuro Linguistic Programming. I write software. I consult with large and small corporations on a variety of technical fields: finance, banking, insurance, construction, engineering, simulations, modeling, electronics, product design, systems integration, and much more. I am a writer. I am an atheist/anti-theist or "bright" - no invisible friends for me. You are free to be or "believe" what you want as long as you don't harm anyone in your actions in accordance with the non-aggression principle. I promote the natural human desire to freely trade with others and to relate with others in the context of the non-aggression principle and voluntary society with spontaneous order. I'm working to rebalance my body through various forms of body weight strength training such as hot yoga, calisthenics, in addition to free weights and old school strength training; and nutrition of course. I practice meditation of observing one's own breath without trying to change its rythym, which is something one can practice whatever one is doing in life (or whatever life is doing to one). I'm comitted to excellence and life long learning. If I can bring a smile to your face; if I can brighten your day; if I can learn from you; if I can teach you; if I can freely trade with you; if I can make a positive difference in your life; these are actions of success that I value. Live long and prosper.
This entry was posted in Beginner, Fit For Life, Food, Health, Intermittent Fasting, Jasmin Singer, Motivate, People Transformed, Results, Science, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment